Wednesday, October 1, 2008 – Welcome to Canada! Oh, and you’re blackballed!

I was booked to do a debate this Friday night with Warren Kinsella on Canada’s CTV Newsnet on the topic of the US Vice-Presidential debate. A CTV producer had contacted me a couple of weeks ago to schedule and discuss this, and they had yet to find a suitable opponent, so yesterday I recommended that Kinsella would be a great debate partner, since he’s a smart, articulate liberal who gives as good as he can take. He apparently agreed and was looking forward to it. Then I received this email (below) today, from the same producer. Your regularly scheduled nightly Canadian television coma will now continue uninterrupted by any potentially controversial views. This isn’t the first time that I have been booked – then unbooked – by the brass at CTV. Why is CTV brass so afraid to air strong conservative views? Pathetic.

From: [redacted] <[redacted]@ctv.ca>
Subject: Friday’s panel
To: rachelmarsden@yahoo.com
Date: Wednesday, October 1, 2008, 12:29 PM

Hi Rachel,

Im sorry. I had nothing to do with this, but I was just denied permission to book you for an appearance on CTV. I have no idea why. All I know is that my bosss bosss boss just noticed the booking and told me that I must not go ahead with it. I truly apologize. As you can probably tell, Im being totally honest with you. There is nothing I can do.

 

UPDATE: Warren Kinsella’s response here.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Wednesday, October 1, 2008 – Welcome to Canada! Oh, and you’re blackballed!

  1. sunset84

    SOS! my balls are black!!! lol

  2. shawnbarr

    It’s Canada; what do you expect (jk all you Canadians!!)

  3. kanadianbakin

    Your not fluffy enough for CTV. They don’t want anyone who has something intelligent to say. They want someone who can articulate the same fairy tale world they reside in.

  4. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

